Suomeksi: Suomenkieliset sivustot: sofioksanen.fi normaross.fi kyyhkyset.fi Ouvrir le site en français »
Latest release in Albania

Spastrimi

Latest release in Brazil

Quando as pombas desapareceram

Latest release in Bulgaria

Когато гълъбите изчезнаха

Latest release in Canada

Norma

Latest release in China

To be announced

Latest release in Croatia

Norma

Latest release in Czech Republic

Norma

Latest release in Denmark

Norma

Latest release in Estonia

Norma

Latest release in Finland

Norma

Latest release in France

Norma

Latest release in Georgia

როცა მტრედები გაუჩინარდნენ

Latest release in Germany

Die Sache mit Norma

Latest release in Greece

Norma

Latest release in Hungary

Norma

Latest release in Iceland

Norma

Latest release in India

Nadukadathal

Latest release in Israel

Hatihur

Latest release in Italy

Norma

Latest release in Japan

しゅくせい

Latest release in Korea

추방

Latest release in Latvia

Norma

Latest release in Lithuania

Norma

Latest release in Mexico

Purga

Latest release in Netherlands

Norma

Latest release in Norway

Norma

Latest release in Poland

Norma

Latest release in Portugal

Norma

Latest release in Romania

Ziua cind au disparut porumbeii

Latest release in Russia

Когда исчезли голуби (Kogda ischezly goluby)

Latest release in Serbia

Pročišćenje

Latest release in Slovakia

Očista

Latest release in Slovenia

Ko golobice izginejo

Latest release in Spain

Norma

Latest release in Sweden

Norma

Latest release in Taiwan

救贖

Latest release in The United States

Norma

Latest release in Turkey

Norma

Latest release in Ukraine

Norma

Latest release in United Kingdom

Norma

Der Weihnachtsmann 
spricht Finnisch

7.10.2014 Frankfurter Buchmesse

Liebe Leser,

ich wurde im Jahr 1977 in Finnland in eine estnisch-finnische Familie geboren, als Finnland das goldene Zeitalter der Finnlandisierung erlebte. Sie schuf eine Atmosphäre, die sich auf das ganze Land auswirkte, und Finnlandisierung betrieben die Entscheidungsträger in Politik und Wirtschaft ebenso wie die Medien und die Kulturelite. Sowjetkritische Wissenschaftler an den Universitäten hatten kein leichtes Leben, und in der Journalistenausbildung herrschte derselbe Geist. An unserer Schule wurden Landkarten benutzt, auf denen mein zweites Heimatland Estland fehlte, und von der sowjetischen  Besetzung Estlands wurde in Euphemismen gesprochen. Als im schwedischen Fernsehen der Film Ein Tag im Leben des Iwan Denissowitsch nach dem Roman von Alexander Solschenizyn gezeigt wurde, unterbrachen die finnischen Behörden die Übertragung, die sonst auch innerhalb der Grenzen Finnlands zu sehen gewesen wäre. Dieser Film, der das sowjetische System der Straflager darstellte, war nicht für die Finnen bestimmt. Das Ärgerlichste bei all dem war aber vielleicht die Selbstzensur; Finnland agierte selbst als sein gründlichster Zensor.

Finnlandisierung war gleichbedeutend mit verminderter Selbstständigkeit, mit angenagter Demokratie und abgewürgter Meinungsfreiheit – ein Modell, das ein Finne unmöglich irgendjemandem empfehlen kann, obwohl in letzter Zeit viele ausländische Wissenschaftler fanden, dass es sich für die Ukraine eigne. 

Die Meinung und der Geschmack der Bürger jener Zeit verraten jedoch, dass es auch ein anderes Finnland gab. In meinem Geburtsjahr kam die Platte einer finnischen Rockgruppe, der Sleepy Sleepers, heraus. Ursprünglich hatte die Einspielung Anarkiaa Karjalassa, Anarchie in Karelien, heißen sollen, aber aus außenpolitischen Gründen wurde sie unter dem Titel Takaisin Karjalaan, Zurück nach Karelien, veröffentlicht. Finnland musste im Jahr 1940 nach dem Winterkrieg Karelien an die Sowjetunion abtreten – ebenso nach dem Fortsetzungskrieg von 1944 – und das Thema war heikel. Manche Leute in Finnland waren der Auffassung, die Platte schade den finnisch-sowjetischen Beziehungen, und so wurde sie aus den Musikautomaten entfernt. Von der Band wurde verlangt, dass sie Auftritte absagte. Sie war jedoch nicht bereit, sich finnlandisieren zu lassen, und wurde später eine der beliebtesten Rockgruppen.

Karelien ist für die finnische Kunst schon allein deswegen immer ein wichtiger Landstrich gewesen, weil dort unser Nationalepos Kalevala entstanden ist. Karelische Themen waren von alters her sowohl in der Musik als auch in der Bild- und in der Wortkunst bekannt, aber nach dem Verlust dieses Gebiets kam noch die Aussiedlerliteratur hinzu. Aus Karelien flüchtete eine halbe Million finnischer Staatsbürger nach Finnland, und während das Land finnlandisiert wurde, schufen besonders die Schriftstellerinnen mit Aussiedlerhintergrund in der finnischen Literatur ein literarisch starkes Karelien. In den schlimmsten Jahren der Finnlandisierung goutierten die Kritiker diese Themen nicht, aber die Leser liebten sie. So haben sich zum Beispiel die historischen Romane von Laila Hirvisaari, die über die Aussiedlung schrieb, in Finnland über vier Millionen Mal verkauft. Finnland hat nur fünfeinhalb Millionen Einwohner, sodass klar sein dürfte, wie beliebt diese Bücher bei den Menschen waren.

Obwohl es schwierig war, öffentlich zu diskutieren, war Karelien für Rockmusik und Literatur zu einem Ort geworden, wo Schmerzpunkte der finnischen Geschichte behandelt werden konnten. Für genau solche Situationen wird die Kunst gebraucht. Wenn die äußere Wirklichkeit und der offizielle Standpunkt des Landes nicht den Erfahrungen der Menschen und ihrem Rechtsempfinden entsprechen, führt das immer zu Unsicherheit und Skepsis gegenüber der Realität und der Berechtigung der eigenen Erfahrungen. Das schwächt das Selbstbewusstsein, das schwächt das Individuum, das schwächt das Volk. Der Mensch braucht für seine Erfahrungen einen Spiegel, und dafür benötigt er eine nationale Literatur, die er in seiner Muttersprache lesen kann. Das war für Finnland nicht immer selbstverständlich.

Die Bedeutung der Schriftstellerinnen

Im Jahr 1917 erlangte Finnland die Unabhängigkeit, und der Wille zur Unabhängigkeit war seit der zweiten Hälfte des 19. Jahrhunderts stetig gewachsen. Doch damals galt die finnische Sprache noch als für literarische Zwecke zu derb. Die finnische Schriftsprache ist jung, und es gab einfach noch keine Schriftsteller, die sich in schriftlichem Finnisch geschmeidig genug ausdrücken konnten. Auch wenn das Kalevala alle Kunstgattungen inspirierte - Elias Lönnrot hatte es aus der von ihm gesammelten mündlichen Überlieferung zusammengestellt. Die offizielle Sprache war das Schwedische, und das behielt seine Stellung auch dann noch, als der russische Zar Herrscher über Finnland wurde. Das Schwedische blieb weiterhin die Sprache von Kultur, Bildung und Literatur, das Finnische war für die Bauern da.

Die schwedischsprachigen Intellektuellen fanden jedoch, Finnland brauche außer der Unabhängigkeit eine finnischsprachige Nationalliteratur, und kämpften für diese Sprache. Die Frauen wirkten aktiv in der Unabhängigkeitsbewegung mit, und ebenso waren sie an der Entstehung der schönen Literatur Finnlands beteiligt. 1848 schrieb Fredrika Wilhelmina Carstens (1808-1888) den ersten finnischen Roman. Eine andere bedeutende Wegbereiterin war Fredrika Runeberg (1807-1879), die Gattin des Nationaldichters Johan Ludvig Runeberg, die lange im Schatten ihres Mannes stand. Sie verfasste jedoch unseren ersten historischen Roman mit dem Titel Rouva Katariina Boije ja hänen tyttärensä, Frau Katariina Boije und ihre Tochter, der 1858 erschien. Er behandelt die Zeit des Großen Unfriedens, das heißt die Zeit der russischen Besetzung Finnlands im 18. Jahrhundert.

Fredrika Wilhelmina Carstens und Fredrika Runeberg schrieben noch auf Schwedisch, aber schon bald folgten ihnen die finnischsprachigen Schriftstellerinnen, auch in der Dramenliteratur. Diese Frauen führten die Probleme der Geschlechterrollen und des Familienlebens in die Literatur ein – Themen, die damals nicht in die öffentliche Diskussion gehörten. Obwohl die Rezeption im Allgemeinen kühl war, begrüßte das unabhängigkeitshungrige Finnland in der Literatur zugleich Geschichten über Frauen, die mit den Widrigkeiten des Lebens rangen. Es hieß die Kämpferinnen, die Heldinnen, willkommen, weil sie gebraucht wurden. Der Bedarf an finnischsprachiger Literatur war so groß, dass schreibende Frauen nicht einfach ignoriert werden konnten.

Die finnische Literatur hat von Anfang an Identitätsgeschichten von Frauen für Frauen hervorgebracht, und es hat in unserer Literatur immer weibliche Personen gegeben, die den Idealen nicht entsprachen. Die Frau war in der finnischen Literatur von Anfang an ein Subjekt. Diese Pionierinnen brachten eine Diskussion über die Rechte und über die Identität von Frauen sowie über deren Recht auf ihren eigenen Körper in Gang, die immer noch andauert. Und sie trugen dazu bei, dass Finnland ein Land wurde, in dem die Gleichberechtigung im internationalen Vergleich einen guten Platz einnimmt und wo die Hälfte aller Schriftsteller Frauen sind.

Die Bodenschätze entscheiden das Schicksal der finno-ugrischen Völker

Entstehung und Bedeutung der finnischen Literatur sind in der Geschichte Finnlands mit der Frauenbewegung, mit der nationalen Identität wie auch mit der Unabhängigkeit des Staates verknüpft. Ohne die Unabhängigkeit hätte die Zukunft unserer Literatur ebenso traurig sein können wie die von beklagenswert vielen finno-ugrischen Völkern, von denen es insgesamt vierundzwanzig mit rund 23 Millionen Sprechern gibt. Nur drei Sprachen dieser Völker leben und gedeihen in einem Nationalstaat: Finnisch in Finnland mit über fünf Millionen Sprechern, Estnisch in Estland mit etwa einer Million Sprechern und Ungarisch in Ungarn mit etwa vierzehn Millionen Sprechern. Den übrigen finno-ugrischen Sprachen geht es in weiten Gebieten schlecht, ganz besonders in Russland, und viele Sprachen sind schon ausgestorben oder bedroht, ganz zu schweigen von der Literatur. Das ist der Kolonisation zu verdanken, die auch so vielen anderen Urvölkern zum Verhängnis wurde. Wir Finnen können uns wahrscheinlich glücklich schätzen, weil unsere natürlichen Ressourcen vor allem aus wenig extravagantem Holz bestehen. Das Volk der Mari und die Nenzen dagegen sitzen auf den Ölfeldern Russlands. Die natürlichen Ressourcen des Siedlungsgebiets der Komi wurden mit Hilfe des ausgedehnten sowjetischen Systems der Straflager, des GULags, genutzt, und das führte zur Russifizierung des Gebiets und zugleich zum Niedergang der komisprachigen Buchkultur. Da die finno-ugrischen Völker immer in ländlichen Gebieten gelebt haben, war die Zwangskollektivierung der Sowjetunion für sie schlimm und bedeutete praktisch die Russifizierung ihrer Siedlungsgebiete. Vierzig Prozent der russischen Öl- und Diamantenvorkommen liegen auf Gebieten, die von finno-ugrischen Völkern bewohnt werden, und das hat das Schicksal dieser außerordentlich friedfertigen Kulturen besiegelt.

Während der Perestroika wurde die Atmosphäre jedoch freier, und das zeigte sich auch im Leben der in Russland ansässigen finno-ugrischen Völker. Es begann eine Diskussion über die zuvor verschwiegenen Verfolgungen und über die Verbesserung der aktuellen Lage, und es wurde an der Vernetzung mit anderen finno-ugrischen Völkern gearbeitet. Nach dem Fall des Eisernen Vorhangs setzten vielerorts Aktivitäten ein, die die Situation der jeweils eigenen Sprache und Kultur verbessern sollten. 

Diese freiere Zeit endete jedoch mit den Tschetschenien-Kriegen. Sie führten in Russland zu einer Verhärtung der Haltungen. Auf den Freiheitskampf der Tschetschenen folgte eine Welle terroristischer Anschläge, die die Angst auch vor anderen nationalen Minderheiten schürte. Während der Regierungszeit von Wladimir Putin tauchte eine neue Gefahr auf: die Erstarkung der Zentralgewalt und die Vereinheitlichung der Föderationsgesetze. Ziel war es, solche lokalen Gesetze zu ändern, die den Verwaltungsorganen der finno-ugrischen Gebiete das Recht auf die Ressourcen und Bodenschätze ihres Gebiets einräumten; die Geldströme sollten wieder Richtung Moskau fließen. Der Druck, solche Änderungen vorzunehmen, zielte auch auf die Sprachgesetze und damit auf die Schwächung der Rechte der nationalen Minderheiten. In den letzten Jahren hat die Zentralgewalt ihren Zugriff noch weiter verstärkt, und der extreme Nationalismus hat zugenommen. 

Nach Ansicht von Sirkka Saarinen, Professorin für Finno-Ugristik, zeigt sich die Stärkung der Zentralgewalt auch darin, dass niemand mehr wagt, die Rechte der finno-ugrischen Völker zur Sprache zu bringen; der Diskurs darüber ist verstummt. Fragenden wird zu verstehen gegeben, alles sei in Ordnung, die Entscheidungen der Zentralgewalt werden nicht angezweifelt. Das ist die Rückkehr zu dem sowjetzeitlichen Schauspiel, in dem die Freundschaft der Völker eine Inszenierung ist, in der wohl Nationaltrachten zugelassen sind, jedoch keine Diskussionen. Von den nationalen Kulturen werden nur die Kulissen, nicht aber die Inhalte akzeptiert. 

Im Jahr 2005 beschuldigten die von der russischen Regierung kontrollierten Medien diese kleinen Völker verschwörerischer Aktivitäten und behaupteten, die finnougrische kulturelle Zusammenarbeit betreibe die Errichtung einer finno-ugrischen Großmacht – ein Gedanke, der lächerlich wäre, handelte es sich nicht um den Versuch einer Kolonialmacht wie Russland, bereits unterworfene Völker noch stärker zu unterdrücken. Im Jahr 2012 konkretisierte sich die Bedeutung von Russlands neuem Kurs für die in den Grenzen Russlands lebenden finno-ugrischen Völker. Damals fand der sechste finnougrische Kongress statt, und daran nahm auch der damalige russische Kulturminister Wladimir Medinski teil. Er erklärte, die finnougrische Zusammenarbeit sei „eine antirussische Bewegung“. Der als internationales Kooperationsforum fungierende Kongress sei angeblich gegründet worden, um sich in die inneren Angelegenheiten Russlands einzumischen und um die Einheitlichkeit der russischen Kultur zu zerstören. Unmittelbar nachdem der Kulturminister dem Kongress diese Dinge mitgeteilt hatte, begab er sich direkt auf die Gründungsversammlung eines Klubs von extrem nationalistischen konservativen Patrioten. Der Klub gab an, er verstehe sich als Gegenkraft für die Provokationen der Demokratiebewegung und entwickle für Russland eine neue Ideologie. Eines ihrer Ziele sei die Wiedergeburt Russlands. Wir alle wissen, wie dieser Klub seinen Zielen näher gekommen ist. Paradoxerweise benutzt Russland seinen Wunsch, das Recht seiner Landsleute auf den Gebrauch ihrer Muttersprache zu verteidigen, als politisches Vehikel, während es zugleich anderen dieses Recht verweigert.

Natürlich geht es nicht nur um die Sprache, sondern vor allem um die Naturreichtümer. In den arktischen Gebieten legt das schmelzende Eis weitere Bodenschätze frei, und zufällig gehören diese Gegenden ebenfalls zu den Siedlungsgebieten der finno-ugrischen Völker. Es vollzieht sich gerade ein großer Sprung hin zur Industrialisierung der Arktis, und die indigenen Völker gehören zu den letzten Hindernissen auf dem Weg zur Ausbeutung der Bodenschätze. Die Not dieser Völker ist nicht in dem Maße ins internationale Bewusstsein gedrungen wie die Umweltschäden, die die Lebensbedingungen der Urvölker anderer Kontinente zerstören. Vielleicht liegt das daran, dass Journalisten lieber in warme Gegenden reisen als in arktische, oder daran, dass über die bedrängten Finnougrier einfach nicht genügend bekannt ist. Deren Literatur wird nicht gelesen, sofern sie überhaupt vorhanden ist, und Völker, wenn in der Weltliteratur nicht einmal marginal vertreten, sind für diejenigen, die die Macht haben, diese Dinge zu beeinflussen, quasi gar nicht vorhanden. Buchkulturen sind immer starke Kulturen, und zu ihren besten Seiten zählt, dass sie durch Übersetzungen auch anderen zugänglich gemacht werden können. Sie vermitteln den künftigen Generationen und durch Übersetzungen der ganzen Welt, die kollektive und historische Erinnerung der Völker, aber leben kann die Sprache nur, wenn Kinder und Jugendliche sie miteinander sprechen und wenn sie im Alltag verwendet wird. Aus einer solchen Umgebung erwachsen auch Schriftsteller, die imstande sind, die Sprache als Werkzeug einzusetzen. Deshalb sind Unterricht und Alltagssprache wesentliche Lebensbedingungen für die literarische Kultur kleiner Sprachgebiete, und deshalb sind die organisierten Sprachnester in Kindergärten und Schulen dieser kleinen Sprachgebiete nach Meinung der russischen Verwaltung so furchtbar gefährlich. Das könnte doch über kurz oder lang dazu führen, dass hier auf der Buchmesse in Frankfurt Bücher von vielen verschiedenen Urvölkern erscheinen, die über die Verfolgungen, die sie erlitten haben, erzählen, über ihre Ausplünderung und über die seit vielen Jahrhunderten praktizierte Kolonialpolitik Russlands. Vielleicht würden Filme über sie gedreht, so wie über die Maoris in Neuseeland oder über die nordamerikanischen Indianer, die die ganze Welt sehen könnte. Da in einer solchen Situation die Ausbeutung der Bodenschätze schwieriger werden könnte, wird so etwas nicht geschehen. 

Nur freie Sprachen fliegen

Die Vertreter großer Sprachgebiete haben mich manchmal gefragt, warum um alles in der Welt ich denn auf Finnisch schreibe, wo ich doch auch Englisch spreche. Ich schreibe auf Finnisch, weil das meine Muttersprache ist, und dank der Übersetzer hat die Tatsache, dass ich ein kleines Sprachgebiet vertrete, mich nicht daran gehindert, eine weltweite Leserschaft zu erreichen. Die finnische Sprache mit ihrer Alliteration und ihren endlosen Flexionsmöglichkeiten ist für Schriftsteller nachgerade unübertrefflich. Außerdem weise ich darauf hin, dass, wenn wir Finnen die Entwicklung unserer Sprache und Literatur unterlassen hätten, Sie heute vielleicht nicht J.R.R. Tolkiens Herr der Ringe hätten, denn Tolkien liebte diese „putzige“ Sprache, die die Grundlage von Tolkiens Sprache der Eldar bildete. Und wenn es nicht diese Vielfalt der Sprachen gäbe, würde niemand in Frage stellen, dass zum Beispiel die Pronomen das Geschlecht nicht ausdrücken müssen. Das Finnische und das Estnische kommen wunderbar ohne geschlechtsdefinierende Pronomen aus, und das hat vielleicht auch etwas mit der Gleichberechtigung bei uns zu tun, denn die Sprache produziert immer Realität. Und vielleicht sind die Finnen deshalb für ihre Gewissenhaftigkeit bekannt, weil Präsens und Futur dieselbe Verbform haben. Vor allem sollten wir bedenken, dass die Muttersprache des Weihnachtsmanns wahrscheinlich das Finnische oder das Saamische ist, das ja auch zu den finno-ugrischen Sprachen gehört. Der Weihnachtsmann wohnt nämlich bei uns, auf einem Berg an der heutigen Grenze zwischen Finnland und Russland, aber als gebildeter Skandinavier versteht er - zum Glück für Ihre Kinder - mehrere Sprachen.

Im Jahr 2014 wurde Finnland von den internationalen Organisationen für Rede- und Pressefreiheit für den Zustand seiner Presse- und Redefreiheit auf Platz eins des Rankings gesetzt, Estland ist auf Platz elf vorgerückt, und die Lage bei den Menschenrechten ist in diesen beiden Demokratien im internationalen Vergleich ausgezeichnet. In nur zwanzig Jahren hat sich ein enormer Wandel vollzogen. Als Finnland im Jahr 1917 und Estland 1918 unabhängig wurden, bezweifelten viele die Fähigkeit dieser Länder, als unabhängige Staaten zu agieren – genau so, wie es jetzt der Ukraine widerfährt. Sowohl Finnland als auch Estland sind Beispiele dafür, was für eine Entwicklung Völker, Sprachen und Künste in kurzer Zeit durchlaufen können, wenn sie die Möglichkeit dazu bekommen.

Fredrika Runeberg glaubte ebenso wie John Stuart Mills, dass Frauen und Sklaven erst dann wissen, wer sie sind, wenn sie ihre Freiheit erlangt haben. Das gilt auch für die Sprachen. Nur das freie Wort kann fliegen. 

Aus dem Finnischen von Angela Plöger

Suomeksi: Suomenkieliset sivustot: sofioksanen.fi normaross.fi kyyhkyset.fi Ouvrir le site en français »
Latest release in Albania

Spastrimi

Latest release in Brazil

Quando as pombas desapareceram

Latest release in Bulgaria

Когато гълъбите изчезнаха

Latest release in Canada

Norma

Latest release in China

To be announced

Latest release in Croatia

Norma

Latest release in Czech Republic

Norma

Latest release in Denmark

Norma

Latest release in Estonia

Norma

Latest release in Finland

Norma

Latest release in France

Norma

Latest release in Georgia

როცა მტრედები გაუჩინარდნენ

Latest release in Germany

Die Sache mit Norma

Latest release in Greece

Norma

Latest release in Hungary

Norma

Latest release in Iceland

Norma

Latest release in India

Nadukadathal

Latest release in Israel

Hatihur

Latest release in Italy

Norma

Latest release in Japan

しゅくせい

Latest release in Korea

추방

Latest release in Latvia

Norma

Latest release in Lithuania

Norma

Latest release in Mexico

Purga

Latest release in Netherlands

Norma

Latest release in Norway

Norma

Latest release in Poland

Norma

Latest release in Portugal

Norma

Latest release in Romania

Ziua cind au disparut porumbeii

Latest release in Russia

Когда исчезли голуби (Kogda ischezly goluby)

Latest release in Serbia

Pročišćenje

Latest release in Slovakia

Očista

Latest release in Slovenia

Ko golobice izginejo

Latest release in Spain

Norma

Latest release in Sweden

Norma

Latest release in Taiwan

救贖

Latest release in The United States

Norma

Latest release in Turkey

Norma

Latest release in Ukraine

Norma

Latest release in United Kingdom

Norma

Santa Claus Speaks Finnish

Opening speech in Frankfurt Book Fair 7.10.2014

Download as PDF »

Beloved Readers

I was born into an Estonian-Finnish family in 1977, when Finland was in its golden age of Finlandization. This influenced the atmosphere that permeated the country, and decision makers in both political and artistic life, the media and the cultural elite all practiced Finlandization. The life of Soviet critics in academia was not easy, and the same spirit was adhered to in journalism training. In our schools we used maps that did not include my other homeland, Estonia, and its Soviet occupation was spoken of in euphemisms. When a film based on Alexandr Solzhenitsyn’s novel One Day in the Life of Ivan Denisovich was shown on Swedish television, Finnish officials cut off the broadcast lest it be seen inside Finland’s borders. A film depicting the Soviet prison camp system was not to be seen by Finns. Perhaps most awkward of all was the self-censorship. Finland was its own best censor.

Finlandization meant diminishment of independence, erosion of democracy, and strangling of freedom of speech. It is a model a Finn could not possibly recommend to anyone, although in recent times many foreign experts have thought it appropriate for Ukraine.

The public opinions and tastes of that time, however, told of another Finland. The release of an album by the Finnish rock band Sleepy Sleepers took place the year I was born. The original title of the recording was to be Anarkiaa KarjalassaAnarchy in Karelia – but for reasons of foreign policy it was released under the name Takaisin Karjalaan – Return to Karelia. Finland had been forced to surrender Karelia to the Soviet Union following the Winter War in 1940 – and again after the Continuation War in 1944 – and it remained a thorny issue. The album release was seen as injurious to Finnish-Soviet relations, so the record was removed from jukeboxes and cancellation of the band’s appearances was demanded. But the band refused to be Finlandized, and they became one of Finland’s most popular rock groups.

Karelia has always been a significant area in Finnish arts as far back as the birth of Finland’s national epic Kalevala. Karelian themes have long been well known in music as well as the visual and literary arts, and after the region was lost, the literature of Karelian evacuees was added to this tradi-tion. Half a million Finnish citizens fled from Karelia into Finland. At the very time that Finlandization was occurring, women writers with evacuee backgrounds were building a strong literary Karelia within the literature of Finland. The critical establishment did not favor such themes during the worst years of Finlandization, but readers loved them. The books of authors such as Laila Hirvisaari, who wrote historical novels about the evacuation, sold more than four million copies in Finland. Our entire population is a little more than five million, which gives you an idea of their popularity.

Although public discussion of the issue was difficult, Karelia had become a place in music and literature where Finland’s sensitive issues could be dealt with, and it is in just such issues that art is needed. When external reality and the official national posture did not correspond to a person’s own experiences or sense of justice, the result is always uncertainty, mistrust of the reality of one’s own experience of reality and justice. This weakens self-esteem, weakens the individual, weakens society. A person needs a mirror for their experiences, and for that you need a national literature that you can read in your native language. In Finland this fact has not always been self-evident.

The Significance of Women Writers

Finland became independent in 1917. The desire for independence had been powerfully growing since the end of the 1800s, yet at the time it was still believed that the Finnish language was too coarse for literary purposes. Our written language was young, and there simply were not enough writers who had mastered the art of writing in Finnish. The Kalevala was an inspiration to art in all its forms, but it was collected by Elias Lönnrot from artists in the oral tradition. The official language was Swedish, and it retained this status even when control of Finland was transferred to the Russian Tsar. Swedish remained the language of culture, education, and literature. Finnish was for peasants.

The Swedish-speaking intelligentsia, however, believed that Finland needed not only its independence but also its own Finnish-language litera-ture, and they fought on behalf of the Finnish language. Women were active participants in the movement for independence, and were thus also participants in the birth of Finnish literature. Fredrika Wilhelmina Carstens (1808-1888) wrote Finland’s first novel in 1848. Another important trailblazer was Fredrika Runeberg (1807-1879), who was the wife of national poet Johan Ludvig Runeberg and long remained in his shadow. She wrote our first historical novel, Rouva Katariina Boije ja hänen tyttärensä (Mrs. Katariina Boije and Her Daughter), published in 1858. The book dealt with the Isoviha, Greater Wrath, the period of Russian occupation of Finland in the early 1700s.

Fredrika Wilhelmina Carstens and Fredrika Runeberg still wrote in Swedish, but women who wrote in Finnish followed close after them, including dramatists. These women dealt with the problems of domestic life and gender roles – questions which had not been a subject of public discussion. Although the response was generally lukewarm, a Finland hungry for independence welcomed stories of women struggling against adversity into its literature. It welcomed fighters and heroines, because they were needed. The need for them in Finnish literature was so great that women writers simply could not ignore it.

From its very beginnings, Finnish literature has produced stories of women’s identities, written by women, and women characters who defied idealization have always been a part of our literature. Women in Finnish literature were subjects, from the start. These pioneers began a conversation about women’s rights, women’s identity, the right to one’s own body, that continues today, and they were an influence in making Finland a country with a level of equality that is good compared to other -countries, a nation in which about half of all writers are women.

Natural Resources Dictate the Fate of the Finno-Ugric Languages

The birth and the importance of literature in Finnish have been intertwined with the woman question, with national identity, and with national independence. Without independence, the future of our literature could have been just as unfortunate as that of the many other Finno-Ugric cultures, some 23 million people who speak 24 different languages. Only three of these languages are thriving in their own nation state: Finnish in Finland, with over five million speakers, Estonian in Estonia, with about one million speakers, and Hungarian in Hungary, with about fourteen million speakers. Other Finno-Ugric languages have fared poorly over a broad geographic area, most especially in Russia, and many of these languages, not to mention their literatures, have already died or are threatened thanks to colonization, which has been the fate of so many other indigenous peoples. We Finns can perhaps feel glad that our natural resources have mainly been our rather unsexy forests. The Mari and -Nenets people, on the other hand, are sitting on top of Russia’s oil fields. The natural resources of the lands where the Komi live were appropriated with the help of the Soviet Union’s prodigious system of camps, the Gulags, which led the area into Russification and its accompanying shutdown of Komi-language literary culture. Because the Finno-Ugric peoples have always lived in rural areas, Soviet forced collectivization was a particular blow to them, and constituted de facto Russification of the areas where they were living. 40 percent of Russia’s reserves of oil and diamonds are located in areas inhabited by Finno-Ugric peoples and this is what has dictated the fate of these extremely peaceful cultures.

During Perestroika, however, the atmosphere liberalized and the effects could be seen in the life of the Finno-Ugric peoples as well. There began a discussion previously silenced, about persecution how to -remedy the present situation, and networks with other Finno-Ugric peoples improved. After the fall of the iron curtain activity began in many areas to improve the status of native languages and cultures. 

That freer time ended, however, with the wars in Chechnya. They led to a tightening of attitudes in Russia, and the Chechen war of independence was followed by a wave of terrorist attacks that fed fears of other minority groups. With Vladimir Putin’s reign there emerged a new threat: the growth of centralized power and the harmonization of federation laws. The goal was to change local laws that had granted Finno-Ugric jurisdictions the right to their local resources and natural riches; to return the flow of money back to Moscow. Pressure for change was also directed at language laws, thus weakening the rights of minority peoples. Over the past few years the central government has continued to tighten their grip and extreme Russian nationalism has only intensified.

According to Sirkka Saarinen, a professor of Finno-Ugric languages, the increase in centralized power can also be seen in the fact that no one dares to promote the rights of Finno-Ugric peoples anymore – the discussion has dried up. It has been made clear that everything is fine and the policies of the central government are not to be questioned. So we have returned to the theater of Soviet times, where the friendship of nations is an act, where national costumes are tolerated but discussion is not. Only the facade and not the substance of national cultures is condoned.

In 2005 Russia’s government-controlled media accused these little groups of conspiracy and claimed that the work of cultural cooperation among Finno-Ugric peoples was bent on creating a Finno-Ugric super state – a claim that would have been laughable if it were not an attempt by a colonial power like Russia to further oppress already downtrodden groups of people. In 2012, the significance of Russia’s new direction for the Finno-Ugric people living within its borders became concrete. That was when the sixth Finno-Ugric Congress was held, with the participation of then Russian Culture Minister Vladimir Medinski. Medinski announced that Finno-Ugric collaboration was an “anti-Russian -activity”. As an international collaborative forum, the congress was supposedly created to meddle in Russia’s internal affairs and destroy Russian cultural harmony. Having made this announcement, the Culture Minister left the congress and went directly to the founding meeting of an ultra-nationalist conservative patriots’ club. The club’s stated purpose was to oppose the provocations of democratic movements and promote a new ideology in Russia with the single goal of Russian rebirth. We all know how that project is going. It is quite paradoxical that Russia makes a political tool of its desire to defend the right of ethnic Russians to use their native language while denying the same right to others.

But the issue, of course, is not just one of languages, but of natural resources. The melting ice in arctic regions is uncovering more natural resources and those areas also happen to be part of the lands inhabited by Finno-Ugric peoples. A great leap into industrial use of arctic areas is underway, and indigenous people are the last obstacle in the path of exploiting those resources. The crisis of these peoples has not achieved international awareness as widely as has the environmental destruction that is eating away at indigenous peoples’ way of life on other continents. Perhaps that is because journalists would rather travel to warmer regions than the arctic, or perhaps there is simply not as much knowledge about the distress of the Finno-Ugrians. Their literature, if they have it, is not read and a culture that does not play an even marginal part in the world’s literature is, in a way, nonexistent to those who have the power of influence in such matters. Literary cultures are always strong cultures, and one of the best aspects of that is the fact that through translation, their literature can also be shared. It can communicate their collective memory and history to later generations and, through translation, to the whole world, but a language can only live if children and young people use it among themselves, if it is alive, a part of everyday life. And it is that environment that gives birth to writers who know how to use their language as a tool. That is why instruction and everyday use are the lifeblood of the literary culture of small languages and that is why language immersion programs in schools and preschools is so terribly dangerous in the opinion of the Russian government. After all, it could soon lead to a situation where, here at the Frankfurt Book Fair, books from scores of indigenous cultures came to be published, stories of the persecutions they have experienced, the exploitation they have endured, the many centuries of Russian colonial politics. Movies might be made about them, like the films about the Maoris of New Zealand or the Native Americans of the United States, for all the world to see. Because such a situation could be problematic for the exploitation of natural resources, it cannot be allowed to happen.

Only Free languages Can Fly

Representatives of large language areas have sometimes asked me why in the world I write in Finnish, when I know how to speak English. I write in Finnish because it is my mother tongue, and thanks to translators, the fact that I come from a small language area and a small indigenous culture has not been any obstacle in achieving a worldwide readership. Finnish language is for an author absolutely unmatched in its alliteration and endless inflectional possibilities. But if we Finns had left the development of our language and literature at that, you all might not have J. R. R. Tolkien’s Lord of the Rings, because Tolkien loved this “droll tongue”, which became the basis of his Elvish language. And if there were no books in this language, no one would ever have wondered, for instance, whether personal pronouns need not specify gender. Finnish and Estonian have got along very well without gender-specific pronouns, and that may have had something to do with our egalitarianism, since language creates reality. And perhaps the Finns are known for their punctuality because their present and future take the same verb form. And most of all it is wise to remember that Santa Claus’s native language is obviously Finnish, or Sami, which is also a Finno-Ugric language. Santa Claus, you see, lives in our parts, on a high fell located in the borderlands of present day Finland and Russia, but luckily for your children, he is from the Nordic countries, and is thus well-studied in many languages.

In 2014 Finland was ranked number one by free speech and press freedom organizations in terms of freedom of speech and freedom of the press. Estonia has managed to climb to number eleven, and the condition of human rights in these two democracies is, by international comparisons, excellent. The change that has occurred in just twenty years is staggering. At the time of Finland’s independence in 1917, and Estonia’s in 1918, their ability to act as independent nations was considered doubtful – just as it now is in the case of Ukraine. Both Finland and Estonia are examples of the kind of advances that people, language, and art can make in a short period of time if they are given the opportunity.

Fredrika Runeberg believed, like John Stuart Mills, that women and slaves only know who they are once they have gained their freedom. This is also true of languages. Only a free language can fly.

Translated from Finnish by Lola Rogers